Never Ever Rain Again!

The first drops from monsoon greeted me at the dim lights of the dusk on this day, rain has always been my love, it had kept my secrets, hidden my tears, soothed my fears and always had made sure that I had the brightest smile on this planet.It was such a treat to meet this very first drops,like a mother, it cradled and hushed the winds to hear my secrets.

“I stole a few flowers from the flower shop on my way here” I gleed and showed the sky the bright red roses in my hands.

The winds caressed the delicate flowers, the rain dripping it with love.

“I know you’ll like it” I splashed around the puddle,I was alone, my solitude is a way to put it, not far away from home but an abandoned alley, normally no people would come across the street into this lonely alley, fearing the dark or the evil but I had been to this place from ages,I knew every corner of this place except that I was too self-obsessed to notice a different eerie change in the area.

Locals had warned me of the night screams from this alley but I had never stayed too long except for today!

Today was special,today I had found my dreams, I had a achieved a gold medal in archery today and had been selected for the national sports, INS(Indian National Sports),hence to show my gratitude to my lucky charm ,I had stolen two red roses, got myself a rain-drop shaped pendant.

I sat on the metal support, a ruined set of ladders to the first floor to an empty house, It was spooky to anybody but I never had been specifically feared ghosts, even if such a thing existed, mere lie hovering in the inhabitants brain,I was a cold hearted person, few of my bowing acquaintances defined me thus!

But they never knew this part of me, where I would appreciate the colors, befriend the wind and fall i love with the rain.I drenched sitting there as few hours passed by, it was almost 9 pm when I realized that I had caught a sneeze from the drenched dress,I quickly wiped myself off the extra water that was pulling me down with the drenched dress.

A few set of footsteps lingered around me, heavy quick advances, the power from the dim street lights blacked out, load-shedding ,I hissed,I had left the cell-phone in my apartment, ghostly shadows played in the dark , there was a creak from the never opened window beside me, the alley turned haunted.

“It’s just anxiety, mere anticipation of the non-existing danger” I calmed my instinct,the fact that I was not frightened by the lurking darkness but the heavy husky voices near me.

The next moment, I was hauled, stripped off my bag and another shadow ripped my gold pendant from my slender neck, I had a cut, bleeding from the neck, the shadows even tore my ear probably to snatch the ear-ring, damn that wasn’t even valuable, the load-shedding had me robbed, I prayed to be only robbed and cursed my love.

Where was the protective instinct? Why am I bleeding in the familiar alley , unknown shadows had just robbed me off my precious lucky charm,my pendant and also a bracelet that had rain charms!

The sky thundered , the lightning striked my alley and I could get the glimpse only of the robes of the robbers and only their demise was of the fading running footsteps.

Tears rolled down my cheeks and the only witness, rain aroused the feelings of helplessness and anger.

“Are You happy now?” I whispered and slouched.

A few more minutes there, I stood up, staggered along the alley, the rain had my screams filtered,none had come to my rescue,I had to reach the hospital.

There was a screeching sound from the main road, it was a heavy downpour and again another accident by a dimwitted driver, I raced for the pedestrian help only to find blood and my ornaments,in his hands!

I gasped aloud and leaned on the car for support.rain

“Maam ,you are hurt”

I remember the cold hands around me and me taken to the hospital! That Familiar cold and damp voice!I never spoke with my love again!

Never Ever  Rain Again!

2 thoughts on “Never Ever Rain Again!

  1. AIshwarya DC says:

    Gud 1☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

