My Humble Hug

The morning newspaper carried the news of the specialty of the day, it was father’s day, it was as normal as any other day for me, usually the days associated with father’s were less known and less spoken off and also because the majority of the male species are not fond of cake cuts, happy social gatherings or party games and my father falls into this vast group though I agree there exists some renegades whom I know of and greatly fond of.

When the prompt came in to write a post for my father, I twitched and turned, I had never written anything for him until I changed this decision when I stumbled on to an old diary dating back to late nineties while searching for some old encyclopaedia from the attic. The diary belonged to my father when he was in late twenties, it was not a journal but his evening college notes that he was pursuing after marriage and with a day job in hand.

Somewhere in the middle of the pages was a note that was tucked and my mom had treasured that verse of his where he had casually written about me when I was born later that year 1992, the four line was for me, about me in kannada , my mother tongue.

He had visualized me growing up with long silky hairs, light foot and beautiful smile, it was just four lines that ended with he wishes to see me smile always, I was happy and over-whelmed, I had seen it a couple of times but never had considered his feelings he must have gone through then, but I never saw him writing again!

Now he is not much into writing or soulful talks, but he does chatter a lot but no serious talks, he binds his inner self well and talks about mundane things with me…But dad I would to understand your hidden soul and know you but I understand you amidst my silent fights!

So here’s a poem for you for that verse,

 

My first admirer, you were

Made from a sprinkle of anger

Lots of love and a dash of discipline

I know you smiled a lot when I came in

As a staunch protector you stand..for me.

 

The long road trips we took

The unrecognizable hotels we dined

During the punctured tyres

And awkward orientation classes in my school

You were silent yet your love spoke…to me.

 

Braided you my bob hairs

Long not it was ,just the way you wanted

Yet you complained less and smiled more

The lost gold rings from my hands never bothered you

I knew I was precious…to you.

 

Priceless you are and so is my humble hug

Coz your expression remains same with any gift I present you

Though I stopped the gifting spree,

Though I may not thank you aloud

I just say that I love you as you are always there…for me.

 

I just know!

 


This father’s day, I am expressing my love towards my dad by participating in the #HugYourDad activity at BlogAdda in association with Vicks.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgKaWMRtnBI

4 thoughts on “My Humble Hug

  1. AdiC says:

    That’s a very heartfelt post! Make sure he reads it 🙂 when you aren’t around.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful! The poem just melted my heart… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

